No Banner to display

Like Us on Facebook

Labrosse Slate Wins Council Race

A team of five candidates led by incumbent Councilman John Labrosse handily won the hotly-contested May 14 Hackensack City Council election.

Labrosse, who’s been serving on the council for four years, was joined in victory by his Citizens for Change running mates – David Sims, Kathy Canestrino, Leo Battaglia and Rose Greenman. Labrosse, the election’s top vote-getter, and his team will replace Mayor Mike Melfi, Councilmen Marlin Townes and Jorge Meneses and Councilwoman Karen Sasso, who did not seek re-election. The five new council members will be sworn into office during a reorganization meeting in July.

Citizens for Change was successful in beating the Hackensack Coalition for Open Government, a team comprised of Ken Martin, Jason Nunnermacker, Joanne Mania Colon, Joseph Barreto and Scott Young, as well as an independent, Victor Sasson. Labrosse’s slate ran on an anti-establishment platform, During the weeks leading up to the election, Hackensack voters were bombarded with fliers and phone calls urging them to select those most capable of leading the city to success. The election comes at a particularly critical time as the city is in the midst of a major downtown rehabilitation plan.

The election garnered one of the city’s lowest voter turnouts in history. The unofficial results were as follows:

John Labrosse    2,006
David Sims    1,911
Kathleen Canestrino     1,908
Leo Battaglia    1,804
Rose Greenman    1,788
Jason Nunnermacker    1,677
Joanne Mania Colon    1,660
Joseph Barreto    1,656
Kenneth Martin    1,651
Scott Young    1,631
Victor E. Sasson    344

QR Code - Take this post Mobile!
Use this unique QR (Quick Response) code with your smart device. The code will save the url of this webpage to the device for mobile sharing and storage.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login