No Banner to display

Like Us on Facebook

South Hackensack Memorial School Graduation

So_Hack_Gr8_Graduation_2014_picSouth Hackensack Memorial School Eighth Grade Commencement was held on Wednesday, June 25, 2014.  The ceremony began with the flag bearers, Steve Garcia and Hajra Mohammad, leading the procession followed by the flag salute, led by Student Council President Gena Kaminski, and the singing of the National Anthem.  Three graduates, Stephanie Orrego, Jeya Lacap, and Amir Samuels delivered the Invocation.

The school Salutatorian, Eiman Rauf, gave the first address.  This was followed by the school Valedictorian, Gena Kaminski, making her presentation.  Mayor Regan then extended congratulations and best wishes to the graduates.

A number of awards were presented at the ceremony.  The VFW Post  and Auxiliary presented awards to Brianna Pena and Jeya Lacap.  The South Hackensack Fire Department gave awards to Alexa Regan and Kayla Sheehan.  The Education Association of South Hackensack presented gifts for academic excellence to Valedictorian, Gena Kaminski and Salutatorian, Eiman Rauf.  The Memorial School PEO  Awards were presented to Ashley Rincon and Marisa Pelikan.  The Senior Citizens of South Hackensack presented awards to Daniel Competiello and Arlene Grullon-Diaz.

The Memorial School Departmental Awards were given to students for their academic achievement in four main subject areas.  Mrs. Gina Kipp presented the Lanuguage Arts Award to Stephanie Orrego.  In the area of Mathematics, Mr. Frank DiLorenzo presented the award to Gena Kaminski.  Miss Judith Wood presented the Science Award to Kalya Sheehan.  In the area of Social Studies, Mrs. Patricia Dinallo presented the award to Eiman Rauf.  The Presidential Academic Excellence Awards were presented to the following students: Khayla Dixon, Arlene Grullon-Diaz, Gena Kaminski, Jeya Lacap, Jeffrey Mercado, Stephanie Orrego, Marisa Pelikan, Brianna Pena, Eiman Rauf, Alexa Regan, Kayla Sheehan.  The citizenship awards were presented to Brianna Pena, Paola Vazquez, Alexa Regan, and Jeffrey Mercado.

A number of scholarship awards were presented to high school graduates who reside in South Hackensack.  The Gennaro “Jim” Anzevino Scholarship Award, the Anthony LoPresti Memorial Scholarship Fund Award and the Township of South Hackensack Award were presented.

After the awards portion of the ceremony, Mr. Gregorio Maceri, principal/superintendent, addressed the graduates and presented them to Board of Education member, Maria Regan.  Once the diplomas were conferred, Mrs.Regan, gave a congratulatory speech on behalf of the Board of Education.  Following this, the class gift was presented to Memorial School by Ashley Rincon.

The graduates then sang their chosen song “Wavin’ Flag”.   Graduates, Marisa Pelikan, Eiman Rauf, and Paola Vazquez, gave the final farewell.  The ceremony ended with the graduates singing Memorial School’s Alma Mater.  The commencement was a joyous night for all in attendance, and best wishes are extended to the South Hackensack Memorial School class of 2014.

QR Code - Take this post Mobile!
Use this unique QR (Quick Response) code with your smart device. The code will save the url of this webpage to the device for mobile sharing and storage.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login